Hive vs ProofHub
Side-by-side comparison of features, pricing, ratings, and alternatives.
Hive is a work management platform that pairs traditional project views (Kanban, Gantt, Calendar, Timeline, Table) with built-in chat, CRM, and finance tools so teams don't need as many separate apps. Its AI assistant, Buzz, helps plan, summarize, and automate work, and the platform includes proofing tools for reviewing creative assets.
ProofHub is a project management and team collaboration platform aimed at teams of all sizes, from marketing and creative teams to IT and product organizations. It centralizes task management, time tracking, file proofing, discussions, and reporting in one workspace, and is positioned as a replacement for stitching together separate tools like Slack, Trello, and Evernote.
- Combines chat, CRM, and project management to reduce app-switching
- Generous free tier including AI credits and 10 workspace members
- Multiple project view types suit different team preferences
- Enterprise-grade security certifications
- Flat pricing with unlimited users instead of per-seat charges
- Combines task management, proofing, chat, and time tracking in one tool
- No long-term contracts and a 14-day free trial with no credit card required
- Custom roles and IP restrictions available for security-conscious teams
- AI credits are metered and can run out on lower tiers
- Free plan storage is limited to 200MB
- CRM and finance tools add complexity some teams may not need
- Higher-tier Ultimate Control plan price rises significantly after the introductory discount period
- Essential plan caps the number of projects at 40
- Interface covers many feature areas, which can add a learning curve for very small teams
More alternatives & similar tools
Alternatives to Hive
View all →AI-powered project and resource management built for client-services profitability
A flexible work management platform that lets teams plan, track, and automate work.
Alternatives to ProofHub
View all →The Verdict
AI-generated from listing dataHive offers a generous free tier with AI‑assisted project tools but metered AI credits, while ProofHub uses flat‑rate unlimited‑user pricing but lacks a free tier and caps projects on lower plans.
Key differences
- •Pricing model: Hive freemium with AI credit limits vs. ProofHub flat subscription with unlimited users.
- •Free tier availability: Hive provides a free plan; ProofHub only paid plans (14‑day trial).
- •Project limits: ProofHub caps projects at 40 on the Essential plan; Hive has no stated project caps.
- •AI capabilities: Hive includes an AI assistant and document proofing; ProofHub does not mention AI.
- •Security certifications: Hive lists SOC2, GDPR, CCPA, ISO 27001; ProofHub’s security details are not specified.
Pricing & value
Hive’s freemium tier gives free AI credits and up to 10 members, whereas ProofHub has no free tier.
Ease of use / learning curve
ProofHub’s flat pricing and unlimited users simplify budgeting, but Hive’s multiple modules (chat, CRM) can add complexity.
Features & depth
Hive adds AI assistant, built‑in CRM, financial processes, and AI document proofing beyond core task management.
Integrations & ecosystem
Both provide APIs; no specific integration details are given for either product.
Collaboration
Both include native team chat, task views, and proofing/time‑tracking features.
Scalability
ProofHub’s flat‑rate unlimited‑user model scales without per‑seat cost; Hive’s free tier limited to 10 members.
Security & privacy
Hive lists SOC2, GDPR, CCPA, ISO 27001 certifications; ProofHub’s security certifications are not specified.
Choose Hive if…
Teams needing AI assistance, built‑in CRM, and a free tier for up to 10 users.
Choose ProofHub if…
Organizations preferring flat‑rate unlimited users and willing to pay for a subscription.
Common questions
Can I start using Hive for free and later add more users?
Yes, Hive’s freemium plan includes up to 10 workspace members; additional users require a paid tier.
Does ProofHub limit the number of projects I can create?
Yes, the Essential plan caps projects at 40; higher plans remove this limit.
Which product provides documented security certifications?
Hive lists SOC2, GDPR, CCPA, and ISO 27001; ProofHub does not specify any certifications.

